Volunteer

Volunteering is a great way for students to gain experience that will help prepare them for their career and at the same time get more connected to the community. There are many benefits to volunteering including:

  • Gain experience that can be added to a resume
  • Allows a person to experience a particular career field and help determine if they enjoy it or not
  • Aids a person in developing a network of contacts

Local Volunteer Opportunities

Organization Contact Information Website
American Cancer Society Terry Racine
610-921-2329
http://www.cancer.org
Animal House Project MaryBeth Yannessa
484-949-8329 EXT 101
http://animalhouseproject.org/volunteer.html
Animal Rescue League of Berks County   http://www.berksarl.org/how-to-help/volunteers
AseraCare Hospice Brittany Zuk
610-336-0711
http://www.aseracare.com/allentown
Bayada Hospice Angie Snyder
610-367-1608
https://www.bayada.com/hospice-boyertown-pa.asp
Berks County Parks and Recreation Department   http://www.co.berks.pa.us/dept/parks/pages/volunteerattheparks.aspx
Berks County Residential Center Ben Schneider
bschneider@countyofberks.com
http://www.co.berks.pa.us/dept/bcrc/pages/default.aspx
Berks Encore Emily Garb
egarb@berksencore.org
610-374-3195 EXT 225
http://berksencore.org/get-involved/volunteer-opportunities
Berks Heim Ann Gilmer
agilmer@countyofberks.com
610-376-4841 EXT 7424
http://www.co.berks.pa.us/Dept/BerksHeim/Pages/BerksHeimVolunteers.aspx
Berks T1D Connection Denise Pasko
lauschgirl@gmail.com
http://www.berkst1dconnection.org
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Berks County Tracy Donoff
email@bigsinberks.org
610-373-5544
http://www.bigsinberks.org/id5.html
Bridge of Hope Jody Widing
jwiding@berks.bridgeofhopeinc.org
610-568-1250
http://berks.bridgeofhopeinc.org
Children's Home of Reading Mindy McIntosh
610-478-8266 EXT 468
http://www.childrenshomeofrdg.org/chor/volunteer.cshtml
Fairy Godmothers of Berks County Tania Brown
610-223-0665
http://fairygodmothersofberks.com
Friend Inc. Community Services Cathy Dill
cathy@friendinc.org
610-683-7791
http://www.friendinc.org/about/volunteer.php
Glad Tidings Assembly of God Church Betsy Gettis
betsygettis@ataog.org
610-678-0266 EXT 239
http://gtaog.org
Greater Berks Food Bank   http://berksfoodbank.org/programs/pantry-kitchen-shelter
Habitat for Humanity of Berks County Tiffany Fasig
tfasig@habitatberks.org
610-373-3439
http://habitatberks.org/volunteer
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Tammy Jandrasitz
jandrasitz@hawkmountain.org
610-756-6000 EXT 215
http://www.hawkmountain.org/volunteer/volunteer/page.aspx?id=403
Humane Society of Berks County Lauren Monti
lmonti@humanepa.org
610-921-2348
http://humanepa.org/about-us/volunteer
Idealist   http://www.idealist.org/
Life Choice Hospice Stacy Perlaki
sperlaki@lifechoicehospice.com
1-800-557-7570
 
Lutheran Home Care and Hospice Cathy Sweeney
csweeney@lutheranhomecare.org
800-840-9081
http://spiritrustlutheranhomecare.org/volunteers
Meals on Wheels 610-374-3195 EXT 220 http://berksencore.org/services/referrals/meals-on-wheels
Middle Creek Search and Rescue Kathy Gertler
866-542-5678
http://www.midsar.org
Neighborhood Housing Services of Greater Berks Kelley Coates
kcoates@nhsgreaterberks.org
610-372-8433 EXT 213
http://www.nhsgreaterberks.org
Olivet Boys & Girls Club Tracy Lockhart
tracy.lockhart@olivetbgc.org
610-373-1314
https://www.olivetbgc.org/volunteer
Penn State Health Saint Joseph Barb Moyer
barbmoyer@catholichealth.net
http://www.thefutureofhealthcare.org/giving-to-st-joes/volunteering-at-st-joes
Permacultivate Sarah Jacobson
volunteer@permacultivate.org
http://www.permacultivate.org
Reading Hospital 484-628-8477
volunteerservices@readinghealth.org
https://www.readinghealth.org/contribute/volunteer
Shady Hollow Assisted Riding 610-582-4050
volunteer@hugahorse.com
http://hugahorse.com/volunteer2
United Way of Berks County   http://www.uwberks.org/wwwpub/default.aspx?pageid=24
Volunteers in Mission Yesica Villalobos
bfvim@bfranciscan.org
610-796-8972
http://www.bernardinevolunteers.org